Sovereign Grace Church

scott faris

Where are you from? Born and raised in Bloomington, Indiana, then moved to NJ when I was 16.

Where did you go to schoolWheaton College (IL) for both my B.A. (English) and M.A. (Intercultural Studies).  

What is your history in pastoral ministry? Involved with Missions after college, a number of years in the marketplace, and since coming to the church in 2003 have rolled through seasons of serving full-time, part-time, as a bi-vocational elder, and am currently on staff full-time.

What are your ministry responsibilities at SGC? Maintain the facility and oversee the volunteers who help care for it, IT support, Missions, pastoral care and Kids Quest (SGC’s children’s ministry).

Introduce your family: Katie and I have been married since 2005 and have five children ranging in age from 4 to 15. They are all great kids. Katie has a big heart, is a cracking good writer, is very pretty, very godly. We stick pretty close to one another.

What’s your favorite sports team? Everyone around here knows I’m pretty clueless and/or ambivalent about sports in general, but I do love college basketball, always pull for I.U. if they make it to playoffs.

What are your favorite books (or genre)? Fiction for sure, particularly the science kind. Love: C.S. Lewis’s Space Trilogy, Tolkien, etc. Enjoy novels by Larry Woiwode, Walker Percy. Lived and worked in China for many years, so enjoy reading just about anything related to Chinese history or culture, have shelves of that stuff.

What hobbies do you have? Carpentry, masonry, plumbing and electric. These almost have to be your hobbies when you own an old house like we do. I also like playing trumpet and reading, hanging out with Katie.

How do you like to relax? Sitting on our front porch with people, running errands with the kids, a day at the beach in Ocean City, exploring cities or towns I’ve never been to before.